The announcement by the president of the Cannes 2019 had been slow ; one of the members of the jury also. Barely, two weeks before the opening of the international Festival of cinema, the names of the eight film-makers and actors responsible for the nomination of the film for a successor to A family affair , sacred in the past year, were announced Monday night. The French Enki Bilal, Maimouna n’diaye and Robin Campillo, the actress Elle Fanning, the filmmakers Yorgos Lanthimos, Alice Rohrwacher, Kelly Reichardt and Pawel Pawlikowski: a vintage 2019 young and exciting, which honors the directors rather than the actors.

” READ ALSO – the Cannes film Festival: the mexican Alejandro Gonzalez Iñarritu president of the jury 2019

Under the leadership of president Alejandro González Iñarritu, these four women and four men, of seven different nationalities, will award the Palme d’or during the closing ceremony on Saturday 25 may. The general delegate, Thierry Frémaux and the president of the festival Pierre Lescure have praised these “great artists” in a press release issued Monday evening. Overview of the jury of this 72nd edition.

● Elle Fanning, the youngest experienced

Surrounded by seven filmmakers, Elle Fanning is the only jury member to have not realized film. 21-year-old, she is also the youngest member of the jury. Despite his young age, the american actress displayed a CV insolent: she appeared in David Fincher ( The curious case of Benjamin Button ), Sofia Coppola ( Somewhere , The Prey ), Francis Ford Coppola ( Twixt ), or even Nicolas Winding Refn ( The Neon Demon ). She took her first steps on the screen at the age of three years alongside Sean Penn, in which she plays the daughter in the comedy-drama Sam, I am Sam . It is thanks to J. J. Abrams that it is revealed to the general public with its science-fiction film Super 8 , for which the actress won a Spotlight Award at the film Festival of Hollywood. On the Croisette, Elle Fanning will return to the jury president Alejandro González Iñarritu, after turning in his drama of Babel , prix de la mise en scene at Cannes in 2006.

● Maimouna n’diaye, the sharp eye of Africa

Kelly Reichardt at the Venice film Festival in 2013. Genin-Marshal/Genin-Marechal/ABACA

Representative of the african continent in the jury, Maimouna n’diaye is an actress and director, franco-guinean. She grew up in Guinea-Conakry before studying in France and then embarking on an acting career in 1992 with Otar Iosseliani in Hunting butterflies . It won the prize Fespaco for best actress in 2015 for her role in the Eye of The hurricane (Sekou Traore). Maimouna n’diaye, who has lent his voice to the mother of Kirikou in the film of Michel Ocelot Kirikou and the sorceress (1996), is also shown behind the camera with the documentary Warbassanga (1998) and Slices of life (2009).

● Kelly Reichardt, the safe value of the film independent american

Accustomed to festivals, the filmmaker Kelly Reichardt, is “a figure of the independent film acclaimed by critics”, stated Thierry Frémaux and Pierre Lescure in a press release published on Monday. She is the first american to win a Tiger Award at the International film Festival Rotterdam thanks to Old Joy , a drama following two friends campers confronted with their differences during a weekend. His feature-length film following, Wendy and Lucy , was presented at Cannes in 2008 in the un Certain Regard selection and his films Last Track (2010) and Night Moves (2013) at the Venice film Festival she has won the Grand prize at the american film Festival of Deauville with the latter, which follows three environmentalists as radical in the face of their own contradictions, played by Dakota Fanning, Jesse Eisenberg and Peter Sarsgaard.

● Alice Rohrwacher, the talented Italian

Alice Rohrwacher, winner of the best screenplay Award at the last Cannes film festival. Shootpix/Shootpix/ABACA

It is all-conquering, Alice Rohrwacher returns to the Croisette. Last year, the director of the Italian was left the closing ceremony with the prize for best screenplay for his film Happy as Lazzaro (Lazzaro Felice) . This veteran of the Cannes festival had also presented his first two feature-length films of fiction, Corpo celeste (2011) at the Directors ‘ Fortnight, and Wonders (2014). In the official competition, the latter, in which she led her sister and Monica Bellucci, has won the Grand prize, dedicating Rohrwacher as “a director, major of the new generation of filmmakers from italy”, stated Thierry Frémaux and Pierre Lescure.

● Enki Bilal, from the ninth to the seventh art

It is the surprise of this jury. The bédéaste, born in Yugoslavia in 1951, is the author of more than thirty of translated works in the world. Its most famous, The Trilogy Nikopol and The Ring of the Monster , in which Enki Bilal mixes science-fiction, and poetry, have become classics of the ninth art in The sixties, dean of the jury, is also director and screenwriter. His first film Bunker Palace Hotel , released in 1989, directed by Jean-Louis Trintignant and Carole Bouquet during a rebellion in a dictatorship imagination of a futuristic world. It has also adapted its boards with a particular Immortal, ad vitam (2004). Bilal is currently preparing an adaptation into a tv series of his latest COMIC, Bug , of which volume 2 is out in April.

” READ ALSO – Enki Bilal: “With the series Bug, I am a whistleblower”.

● Robin Campillo, the winner

His film 120 beats per minute , over the years aids in France, touched many hearts. Two years ago, Robin Campillo returned to the Croisette with the Grand prize. The following year, he won the César, grabbing six statuettes, including those for best film and best original screenplay. Prior to this, the filmmaker is a 56-year-old has been noted for his collaborations with filmmaker Laurent Cantet, for which he has written four screenplays since 2001. Among these scripts, that of Between the walls , which won the palme d’or at Cannes in 2008. His second feature film, Eastern Boys , received the award Horizons best Film at the Venice film Festival in 2013.

● Yorgos Lanthimos, creaky and absurd.

Pawel Pawlikowski, winner of the prix de la mise en scene at the 71st Festival of Cannes. Genin Nicolas/Genin Nicolas/ABACA

award-winning Director in Cannes, Yorgos Lanthimos is illustré from his first film, Canine , prix un Certain Regard of the 62nd edition of the event. Worn by Colin Farrell, his following films, The Lobster (2015) and death of the sacred deer (2017), both articulated around the notion of the absurd, have won respectively the jury prize and the best screenplay award. His last feature film, Favorite has reigned supreme on the Bafta, and had won the oscar for best actress for its lead performer Olivia Colman.

” READ ALSO – The Favourite: the war in petticoats

● Pawel Pawlikowski, the european flame

Prices for the stage at the last festival de Cannes thanks to Cold War , chronicle of an impossible love between a musician and a Polish refugee to the west, and the singer remained on the other side of the iron Curtain, he had just missed the Palm. The director is initially known for his documentaries in the 1990s. His novels Transit Palace (2001) and My Summer of Love (2004) had been made to honor the Bafta, while his feature film Ida became the first Polish film to win an oscar after having won the statuette for best foreign language film in 2015.